RSS

Life Without My Dog

20 Feb

He’s gone. My beautiful, big, black best friend has gone. This is going to be a very short post because my heart is in so many pieces and I have cried so much I can hardly see.

Eric was always unpredictable – there was something wrongly wired in his head. Also, he had a problem with his eyesight that must have been frightening for him. I managed him with help from my sister, St F and a brilliant trainer called Brendan but as time went on he became more and more unstable. Finally, after he bit me, we consulted Brendan and the charity he came from and agreed that if he couldn’t cope in the home I’d given him, he couldn’t cope anywhere. In effect, he was too dangerous to re-home so …

In the few hours I had left with him, I fed him peanut butter and cheese and blew bubbles for him to chase and I kissed his nose many times. I told him over and over that I loved him. But you know when St F came to take him to the vets (she refused point blank to let me go along) and I walked him out to the car, it wasn’t enough. I just wanted to hold him forever.

 

His bed is still in my kitchen. His giant muddy paw-prints decorate the floor and the plastic bottle that I filled with treats for him to chew is safely stored in a cupboard. I miss him, I miss him, I miss him.

I don’t regret knowing him. I don’t regret a single second of being with him. I love him and I wish it could have been different but at least he had fun. He had love. He had security. And I had him.

I will have another dog, another rescue dog, because however heartbreaking it may be, there is always need for softies like me but, just for now, I’m going to sleep holding the collar I made for Eric with his I.D disc on it.

I love you, Eric

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Life Without My Dog

  1. Chris Dannan

    February 21, 2014 at 12:02 am

    No words Lorraine, I share your heartbreak and have also cried many, many tears. Eric, I love you too, and will never forget you. In our hearts forever xx

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      February 21, 2014 at 12:44 am

      I know, Chris. I am so sorry. Sorry for you, me and my family because all of us are heartbroken but we knew him, we loved him and we share a special bond because of that XXXX

       

Leave a Reply

 
