RSS

Silence is Not Golden – Well Not in This Case

15 Jan

Yeah, yeah, yeah, it’s been awful quiet around here lately. I know, I know. But don’t think I’m lazy or giving up on Shedward. It’s just that (sob) my laptop is dying. Eight years we’ve been together. I’ve boosted his memory, updated his software, had him tuned up but it’s time to face facts. He’s not well at all.

My niece got a brand new, sexy purple laptop for Christmas (and her mother will be paying for it until next Christmas). It’s got Windows 8 and all sorts on it. And boy, it’s fast. I know because I’ve looked over her shoulder when she’s using it. She won’t let me borrow it. I can’t prise her sweaty palms off the damn thing. It’s not fair.

When I’m working, it would take me less than a week to earn the money for a new one but, the trouble is, I’m not working and haven’t been for a year because of a torn tendon in my arm. So I’m poor. Very bloody poor. Too poor to even think about a speedy new laptop with a webcam and a billion gigs of memory. Sigh.

Imagine a laptop that doesn’t take a day and a half to get online. Imagine a laptop that takes less than a week to boot up. Cor!

So, I just thought I’d let you know that I’m still here and I will post properly when I can get the mice inside my elderly computer to run fast enough on the wheel to power it up.

In the meantime, if anyone finds a genie, make a wish for me. I want a red one with lots of memory – touch screen optional …

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2014 in Family Life, Struggling Writers

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Silence is Not Golden – Well Not in This Case

  1. sharron

    January 15, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Sorry to hear that he’s on his last legs, the laptop that is. But Window 8, please don’t be fooled. Windows 8 is geared up for Tablets. Windows 7 is far far better. I found this out from experience, I was taken in by the shiny new toy! But my love affair ended after three months! I decided to take the bullet and become a convert to the influence of the shiny apple! Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t have an iPhone nor an iPad, I’m still an android user both on the phone and tablet, I want a good laptop that had a good platform like “Windows 98 and XP”.

    Now I have a three year old Snow Leopard, and a six month old Mountain Lion, and they are far better and faster than anything Windows can offer. They are an investment and can be traded in, will last and upgrade with ease over the internet, and at a much cheaper cost than Windows. The only downside is the initial investment outlay. All I can say, it’s worth it in the long run and not prone to virus attacks.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      January 16, 2014 at 2:58 am

      I know about Windows 8 – or rather, have heard negative thungs about it. I’ve thought of trying an Apple but all is out of my reach for the foreseeable. Hey ho.

       
  2. hugmamma

    February 15, 2014 at 5:08 am

    I can totally relate. I hate when something’s amiss with my laptop. It’s like a black hole that I have to fill doing other things until it’s up and running again.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      February 17, 2014 at 2:29 am

      It is awful! Still I’ve just read Hilary Mantel’s two brilliant Booker winners while my laptop has been throwing a wobbly so I’m getting some culture!

       

Leave a Reply

 
