RSS

Weekly Writing Challenge – I Remember: One Giant Step

06 Aug

I Remember

One Giant Step

Upstairs. She’s making her bed and I want to be where she is. I’m in the doorway to her bedroom. She looks up and sees me.

‘Come on then,’ she says. ‘I’m not coming to get you.’

I’m frustrated, upset, but she won’t come to me. I have to go to her. The space between us is enormous and I’m frightened. I can’t cross it. But she won’t come and get me. Then, suddenly, I’m toddling across the carpet. Her bed is in front of me. A safe place to grab a hold of. The gap closes and I’m there.

‘Well done!’ she smiles. ‘I knew you could do it.’ She picks me up, her eleven month-old daughter who has just taken her first unaided steps.

10 minute writing exercise on my earliest memory written in response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/writing-challenge-remember/

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2013 in Family Life

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Weekly Writing Challenge – I Remember: One Giant Step

  1. Observer 40

    August 6, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    Wow! My earliest memory is trying to look in the back of the wireless to find the man who told me all about Larry the Lamb during Children’s Hour.
    Never found him but I did once leave him a glass of milk and the next day the glass was empty so I hope he enjoyed it.

     
  2. Observer 40

    August 7, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Well………I was going to but it was a chocolate biscuit and I really liked chocolate biscuits………

     

Leave a Reply

 
