RSS

Plug Me In I’m Ready

03 Nov

I wish I were able to plug a USB stick into the back of my head and download my thoughts.

Think of that!

OK, there would be a lot of rubbish to edit out. For example, I’m currently aboard a ship and one of the tasks that falls to me is … chart corrections. If you don’t know what chart corrections are then hooray for you. If you do know about the trial and toil of Admiralty Notices to Mariners, then you know that my downloaded thoughts would mostly read like this.

‘Um, chart number 2182B. 2182B, 2182B … Ah, there it is. What? No! Not another bloody pipeline! Grrrr. OK, done. Write down the correction number 4478. Last correction is 4201.  Chart number 5500 …’ And so on. Not terribly interesting is it? But what about all those little treasures that flit through the mind and are gone before you can pick up a pen and write them down? It’s those I want to find again. Also, and this might sound a little weird, as a writer, I feel quite curious when I reread my work. Especially if some time has passed since I last looked at it. I am not the same woman any more. It is an odd feeling.

I did explore the idea of past and future mes (Is that a word? Is that how it’s spelt?) colliding in my post, Meeting Yourself Coming Back and this idea is different. But it is related. Imagine if you could download your thoughts. You would be hearing or seeing them from the outside. How would that feel? How would I relate to a print out or audio recording of the constant waffle that goes on in the privacy of my head? Probably, I’d love it – for a bit. Then I’d get bored. Then I’d want to download your thoughts and see what’s going on in your head…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2012 in Musing

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Plug Me In I’m Ready

  1. Observer 40

    November 4, 2012 at 12:46 am

    Wow ! Now you’ve got us all worried !! I’ve checked myself all over but so far no sign of a USB port. Please picture all your followers standing naked in front of their bathroom mirrors all searching for
    ” THE THOUGHT LEAK ”
    With a fair few of them into advanced middle age it does not conjure a pretty sight.

    Enjoyed Gijon to Santander hope there is more to come.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      November 4, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Arrghhhh! I have pictures in my head now! Eek!
      It is a bit Big Brother -ish isn’t it? Let’s hope we don’t figure out how to do it because we really would have thought police then.
      I will do some more of my Spanish posts as you like them.

       
  2. mindomin

    November 4, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Funny thought! I think it would be to much, because when listening to or reading my thoughts from t.ex. yesterday, I would create new thoughts about the thoughts and so on. No ending in sight (hope my spelling isn’t creating too silly expressions).

    But if there were some kind of program to sort out the silver from the sand, it would be a nice start to writing stories, collecting ideas.

    By the way, your thoughts about numbers, corrections and pipelines could make up a quite rythmic poem. It foten depends on the reader 🙂

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      November 5, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      Ah but creating new thoughts from the old thoughts could you lead you anywhere. Probably to a psychiatric unit knowing my luck.
      I will try to remember that I’m creating poetry next time I’m correcting a chart.
      Thank you for stopping by and saying hello.

       

Leave a Reply

 
