RSS

Our ‘ilary and Me

17 Oct

So after writing Fed Up, ****** Off and Far From Happy, I was dragging about, tripping over my bottom lip and generally feeling depressed until my sister forced me out of the house, deposited me in my favourite café and told me to do the crossword or something. Well, I can’t argue with her when she’s in that mood can I? I bought a newspaper and sat with a bucketful of latte in front of me and puzzled over the cryptic crossword. I may have completed four whole clues before I got bored (and stuck) and so decided to actually read the paper instead. And guess what I discovered? Hilary Mantel’s only gone and won the Booker prize. Again. Well done, that woman! I was lucky enough to attend a talk/interview she did at my university just after her novel Wolf Hall had won the prize. I liked her. I learned from her. And I was well jealous. A friend and I christened her Our ‘ilary, and I’ve felt quite attached to her since then so I’m really very happy she’s done the double. Well done ‘ilary, Bring Up the Bodies is definitely on my reading list.

Then …

My nephew, Semtex, had asked if we could get our dog Floyd (Short Legs, Deep Puddles and From Grey to Green) a ragger. Raggers are bits of knotted rope. You hold one end, the dog takes the other between his teeth and a tug of war breaks out. Unfortunately for Floyd, whilst raggers are widely available, they are generally made for dogs with bigger mouths than he’s got so when I’d sloshed down the last of my coffee, I went in search of some suitable cheap rope. I found some, sat on a bench and made a bespoke ragger. Floyd’s ragger is nautical in style because I used sailor’s knots to make it. His end is a monkey’s fist, Semtex’s end is a double sheet bend and I’m very proud of it. Dog and boy like it too, which is the main thing.

And then …

As if crosswords, Booker Prize winners and raggers weren’t enough to cheer a grumpy old woman up, I got home to find that I’ve had a story accepted by a well-known magazine.

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2012 in Struggling Writers

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Our ‘ilary and Me

  1. jules mc

    October 18, 2012 at 7:20 am

    WELL DONE LOL! That’s fantastic! And you so richly deserve it. What’s the mag, so I can buy it and have a good read? Xxxxx

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      October 18, 2012 at 8:17 am

      Thanks Jules. I’m not allowed to say more until December unfortunately!

       
  2. Observer 40

    October 18, 2012 at 11:08 am

    CONGRATULATIONS well done you !!!!! Like Jules I wanted to know the details roll on December.
    Thought for the day :- LUCK IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY WITH TALENT.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      October 18, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Thank you. I mailed back the consent form today. Ooooo!

       
  3. Wendy Wolf

    October 18, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Well done you. You inspired me to veer off with my OU degree- and less than an hour ago I submitted my first ramblings of my Creative Writing module.
    Just over an hour ago, I hated you.
    I’ll look forward to reading it 🙂

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      October 18, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      Hey! I didn’t know we shared an interest (apart from the sea, pirates, spanker parties). I really, really hope you enjoy the course and that it gets you writing. You know where I am if you need an input XX

       

Leave a Reply

 
