RSS

Coming Back to Life

14 Sep

It’s been so long since I managed more than a shopping list that I’m surprised I’m able to string more than two words together. But, here I am, late at night reaching out into the blog-o-sphere via the ouija board of my laptop. My inner writer isn’t dead after all! And, what’s more, I submitted two stories yesterday. They aren’t new pieces, I wrote one about seven years ago and the other two years ago but it was so nice to have something that fitted with what the magazine was looking for. Normally I look at their call for submissions and think ‘Pants, I’ve got nothing suitable.’
The magazine in question (no, I’m not saying which one – I’m not tempting fate …) is a quarterly and so there’s plenty of time to put something down on paper but you’d be surprised at how long it takes to write and then polish work before it’s ready to send out. And even then, I might think it’s ready to see the light of day but not everyone agrees. Still, it’s all part of the process. I’d better get on and bump up the word count on my fledgling novel while I wait for the rejections to come in.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Struggling Writers

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Coming Back to Life

  1. Observer 40

    September 14, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Like the new photo lovely smile.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      September 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      Thank you very much. I’m really smiling because I have my arms around two hunky polish sailors!

       

Leave a Reply

 
