RSS

The Wilderness

30 Jul

Forgive me WordPress for I have sinned. I have failed to blog on either of my sites for the longest time and I need to absolve myself.
I have excuses – going north for my graduation then rushing back to sea the following day. Being a bit under the weather when I came home and swallowed up by domestic life. – but understand that they don’t get me off the hook.

I am a bad blogger.

I think my biggest problem is that I am suffering the post-grad blues (now if that isn’t a song it should be) and feeling a bit lost. The course is over, I’ve moved clear across the country and now I am all alone in the wilderness of trying to push forward with my writing. I haven’t yet hooked up with anyone else around here that writes. Writing is a solitary business (solitude being something I’m fundamentally suited to) but it is helpful, inspiring and confidence boosting if there are people around that you can talk to over a latte in the bookshop café.
I will get over this hump in the road but, just for now, my writing is so blocked off that I haven’t wanted to open my laptop or even pick up a pen. I hope that this little post will break that bad spell and that I’ll be back at my desk in Shedward PDQ. If nothing else, I owe my nephew a photo-story about Kylie Wyoti’s Great Escape. It’s the sequel to Kylie Wyoti’s Big Adventure and I should have finished it a YEAR ago. Not only am I a bad blogger, I am a bad auntie too. How many Hail Mary’s does all that add up to?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “The Wilderness

  1. John

    July 31, 2012 at 8:24 am

    I’m sorry to read this morning that Maeve Binchy has died, http://goo.gl/bkNGI Moving on then, there is an opening in the market, which admittedly is being filled by many other writers but single woman living in the South West the turmoil of village life and family. I’m sure that you are up to it, we look forward to seeing the first draft.
    And keep the blogging up, us loyal followers need frequent refreshers to keep us keen.
    Meantime her in the Oooter Hebrides the sun shines and the vital lifeline service continues, dodging the West Highland Week yachts which makes life more interesting.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      August 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      Ah, you feel I could turn out an aga-saga with cream teas? I’ll get right to it.

       
    • Lorraine Gouland

      August 2, 2012 at 12:01 am

      Ah, you feel I could turn out an aga-saga with cream teas? I’ll get right to it.

      Glad your still keeping the islands supplied. Maybe you could furnish us with a 21st century version of Whisky Galore???

      Don’t envy you the yachts. Yes, I know you’re ‘one of them.’ I was profoundly glad to leave dear old Bal as soon as she reached Southampton this year. The Solent! All those yachts! I get cold shivers thinking about it.

       
  2. Observer 40

    July 31, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    Writers block comes in many forms,dont force yourself it will fade in its own good time,you will wake up one morning and find yourself entering that shed of yours switching on your laptop and just doing it ! !
    As to other writers in your neck of the woods there will be loads, if you pop into your local library and read the notice board I’m sure you will find some.
    Don’t know how many Hail Mary’s to suggest perhaps reciting The Lords Prayer backwards has possablities.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      August 2, 2012 at 12:06 am

      A writer’s group meets in the next village, I believe but I haven’t made it across there yet. I will.
      As to writer’s block, I’ll conquer that too because the drive to write is too strong to be ignored. I need to stop feeling guilty about the time I need to invest in it. Oh and earn enough money to tide me over for long enough. Or … find a rich lover … More chance of winning the lottery, I think!

       

Leave a Reply

 
