RSS

Now What?

14 Jul

Well I did it. I passed the MA and that was great. Then I had to get dressed up in a funny outfit and collect my certificate. Gulp. Thankfully there was a sea of robes and mortar boards in the centre of Hull that day so I didn’t stand out.
Actually, for someone who prefers to stand at the back and avoid attention, I did enjoy myself. I saw Selina Scott being awarded her Honorary Doctorate and our university chancellor, Virginia Bottomley shook my hand and asked a few questions and I was very good and didn’t break out into an ancient Spitting Image joke about our once Prime Minister, John Major being in love with her. She asked me what I do for a living but all I could hear in my head was ‘John loves Ginny!’ Thankfully, I kept the words inside. You won’t understand any of that if you never saw Spitting Image but trust me, it was funny at the time.
Anyway I had to rush away to join a ship the following day so I haven’t really digested the whole experience. My Captain, though tells anyone who sets foot in the Bridge that I’ve got an MA now. Bless. Maybe he’s proud of me.
I did read the feedback on my dissertation last night (yes it has taken me that long to pluck up the courage). Mm, talk about damning with faint praise … Still I did pass. The question is, now what? How am I going to get my bum in the chair, my fingers on the keyboard and rework the novel to incorporate the criticism without a looming deadline. And will anyone really mind if I don’t?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Struggling Writers

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Now What?

  1. Observer 40

    July 15, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Well firstly big congrats are in order WELL DONE YOU. Nice that you chatted to Ginny although we now know that Johns big love was Edwina. You sound disappointed with the feedback on your dissertation,don’t be this will have been written by some detached swinging brick type living in a dusty dim bookworm world with little idea of the modern fresh and alive planet that real people occupy. As to bum in chair and fingers on keyboard you’d bloody better had or be ready for the anger and disappointment of your loyal followers who constantly awaite the next meanderings from here and Shedward,and who are saving their spare cash to purchase the novel.
    Question why did you choose the sea ? We note from an earlier article that your sister is also a sailor,do you come from a long line of seafarers was,is, your father a sailor or perhaps your mother? And if so why an MA as opposed to a degree in nautical studies,mind you,with your talent for writing I think the answer to that is obvious. Finally it shows just how hard this great achievement has been upon you mentally when one notes that it has caused all the colour to drain from your hair leaving you blond !
    Keep at it Lorraine Gouland MA safe sailing and GOOD LUCK.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      July 17, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Thank you! Yes the strain has drained all the colour from me. I need a holiday! Failing that, a lie in. I’m still ship-bound and quite tired.
      I am sort of disheartened because I know I need to do a lot of revision and when it’s just you and your words, it is rather daunting. Hey ho, though. It’s all churning around at the back of my mind while I’m busy doing sailor type stuff.
      Why the sea? Ah, there’s a question. Nature or nurture? Yes my father was at sea for a bit and he gave me my first seagoing job as a teenager, but more than that, we lived on boats and sailed off to exotic places when sister and I were kids. I can’t orientate my inner compass unless I know where the sea is. I couldn’t live inland and I’m not sure how I’d cope if I travelled to somewhere totally landlocked!

       
  2. John

    July 16, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Well done, and who is that attractive, blond, slim girl in the photo? Not that you aren’t attractive of course, but your standard photo makes you look like you’ve got sideburns, which is very sixties but mainly for men. I have now signed up to receive your meanderings by mail rather than through Linkedin as they take about 2 months to get through. Good luck then Ms MA

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      July 30, 2012 at 11:30 pm

      I think you must be looking at someone else’s graduation photo…

       
  3. Lorraine Gouland

    July 18, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Thank you John. So the sideburns are not a good look eh? I’ll have to trawl through my photos to find a less ‘sixties’ look then. Not that I remember the sixties, John …

     
  4. Martin

    July 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Good to see you in Hull Lorraine, before the Balmoral grabbed you back for the summer. Yes critiques can be tough I’m afraid but praise is also real and the grade was fine and you don’t get tough critique unless it’s worth it … well that’s not so of course some might just sling it around and one is always free to ignore it, but part of the creative process is taking it on board and the whole steaming creative game is a tough one as you know.

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      July 30, 2012 at 11:28 pm

      Don’t know if I found the feedback tough, as such – more… lukewarm. Anyway, I’m trying to engage my brain and work out how I can proceed. I will email you.
      It was great to see you in Hull, looking dynamic and fierce and not at all bored. X

       

Leave a Reply

 
