RSS

De-cobwebbing

11 Jun

Hooray! I’ve finally cleaned out Shedward. The spiders had moved in whilst I was away and dust covered every surface. I should clarify, for anyone who reads my blog of the same name, that Shedward is the garden shed where I worked on my dissertation. It was good, if a little daunting, to see all my notes, pictures and plot lines pasted to the walls. I feel rejuvenated. The novel will be finished … I’m going to work up to it, though. I think I will re-read and re-work my short stories and (maybe) send them out. Now that I have my MA, I’m conscious that I need to keep the pressure on without the incentive of deadlines. I haven’t helped myself by moving so far away from the contacts I made at university and my job makes getting involved with the literary scene down here a slow process. Never mind, in cleaning my outer shed, I’ve also cleaned my inner shed. I hope that means I’ve got headroom to acquaint myself with the writer in me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2012 in Struggling Writers

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “De-cobwebbing

  1. Observer 40

    June 13, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    One can’t help but feel sorry for the poor homeless spiders !

     
    • Lorraine Gouland

      June 13, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      Damn! I never thought of that – your future master race may be watching…
      Actually, I fear they’re not homeless but well hidden. This is a garden shed after all and they won’t respect eviction notices.

       

Leave a Reply

 
